Blog Tour: Book Review - Dead Souls by Angela Marsons


The truth was dead and buried... until now.

When a collection of human bones is unearthed during a routine archaeological dig, a Black Country field suddenly becomes a complex crime scene for Detective Kim Stone.

As the bones are sorted, it becomes clear that the grave contains more than one victim. The bodies hint at unimaginable horror, bearing the markings of bullet holes and animal traps.

Forced to work alongside Detective Travis, with whom she shares a troubled past, Kim begins to uncover a dark secretive relationship between the families who own the land in which the bodies were found.

But while Kim is immersed in one of the most complicated investigations she's ever led, her team are caught up in a spate of sickening hate crimes. Kim is close to revealing the truth behind the murders, yet soon finds one of her own is in jeopardy - and the clock is ticking. Can she solve the case and save them from grave danger - before it's too late?

Blog Tour: Extract from Fiona Gibson's The Woman Who Met Her Match


What if your first love came back on the scene... 30 years later?

After yet another disaster, Lorrie is calling time on online dating. She might be single in her forties, but she's got a good job, wonderful children and she's happy. This, Lorrie decides, is going to have to be enough.

That is, until she receives a very unexpected request from France. Antoine Rousseau, who had once turned a lonely French exchange trip into a summer of romance, wants to see her - after thirty years.

But Lorrie is a responsible woman. She can't exactly run off to Nice with the man who broke her teenage heart... can she?

A wonderfully funny novel, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Joanna Bolouri and Milly Johnson.

Blog Tour: Book Review - Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell


Close your eyes... Just pray you don't wake up.

A killer stalks the streets of East London. All over the area, murdered young women are discovered, their bodies posed into a sickening recreation of fairytale princesses.

Detective Ruby Preston is determined to hunt down a disturbed individual who is using the women to realise his dark fantasies. But when body parts are found at the home of her former lover, Nathan Crosby, Ruby is torn between her job and her heart.

Convinced that he is being framed, Ruby must catch the killer before Nathan becomes the number one suspect. But as more victims are found, it becomes harder to prove his innocence.

As Ruby starts to close in on the twisted individual, can she stop him before he strikes again? And how well does she really know the man she loves?

Book Review: Sweetpea by C.J. Skuse


Rhiannon is your average girl next door, settled with her boyfriend and little dog... but she's got a killer secret.
Although her childhood was haunted by a famous crime, Rhiannon's life is normal now that her celebrity has dwindled. By day her job as an editorial assistant is demanding and unsatisfying. By evening she dutifully listens to her friend's plans for marriage and babies whilst secretly making a list.

A kill list.
From the man on the Lidl checkout who always manhandles her apples, to the driver who cuts her off on her way to work, to the people who have got it coming. Rhiannon's ready to get her revenge.

Because the girl everyone overlooks might be able to get away with murder...

Cover Reveal: The Chateau of Happily Ever Afters by Jaimie Admans


Where dreams come true...?

Wendy Clayton stopped believing in fairy tales a long time ago. Instead, she has a 'nice' life. Nice job. Nice flat. Absolutely no men. Until her life is turned upside-down when her elderly neighbour, Eulalie, passes away and leaves her the Chateau of Happily Ever Afters!

But there's a catch: she must share the sprawling French castle with Eulalie's long-lost nephew, Julian. And no matter how gorgeous he is, or how easily she finds herself falling head over heels, Wendy needs to find a way to get rid of him...

Because surely happily ever afters don't happen in real life?

Escape to beautiful France this summer with this uplifting romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Kat French, Caroline Roberts and Holly Martin.

Available to pre-order here.

Book Review: My Sister by Michelle Adams


My name is Irini. I was given away.

My name is Elle. I was kept.

All her life Irini thought she was given away because her family didn't want her. What if the truth is something worse?

Two sisters.
Two separate lives.

One family bound together by a harrowing secret.

Blog Tour: Book Review - Spring at Blueberry Bay by Holly Martin


Welcome to beautiful Hope Island where the sea sparkles, the daffodils are blooming and a blossoming romance is just around the corner...

Bella has always had a sunny outlook and caring nature, despite recently falling on hard times. When she finds a handsome homeless man on her doorstep, her kind heart tells her she must help him. So, she invites Isaac into her cottage and into her life in ways she could never have imagined...

But Isaac is not what he seems. He's keeping a huge secret from Bella, yet he never expected to fall for this open, generous and charming woman.

Bella can't ignore the chemistry between her and Isaac, but she's had her trust badly broken in her past. Will she run when she learns the truth about Isaac, or will he be the one man who can help Bella believe in love again?

Blog Tour: Book Review - The Escape by C.L. Taylor


"Look after your daughter's things. And your daughter..."

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a life she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn't.

The stranger knows Jo's name, she knows her husband Max and she's got a glove belonging to Jo's two year old daughter Elise.

What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo's own husband turn against her.

No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there's only one way to keep her child safe - RUN.

Book Review: Crimson Lake by Candice Fox

It was impossible for me not to be completely transported into the hot, steamy and croc-infested setting of Crimson Lake by Candice Fox. The author set the scene superbly for this fantastically gripping crime thriller to unravel within, and introduced me to two of the most cleverly-crafted, imperfect characters, encouraging me to like them all the more for it. I raced through the pages of this novel, finding something new to hook me with every couple of chapters. It was intense at times. There were moments where I felt that I couldn't quite make up my mind over what was real and what wasn't, what I believed and what I didn't. Candice Fox weaved a thrilling and hotly-captivating tale that had me second-guessing myself continuously. Each time I thought that my suspicions were correct about someone, I was swiftly proved wrong, which only made the discovery of the truth behind these characters and the case that they are dealing with, as well as their own histories, more beguiling than ever. It's fair to say that by the time I reached the end, my perspective on those involved had changed completely.

Q&A with Jack Jordan, author of Anything for Her & My Girl.


Paige Dawson: the mother of a murdered child and wife to a dead man.

She has nothing left to live for.

Why did Ryan need a gun? What did he know about their daughter's death?

Desperate for the truth, Paige begins to unearth her husband's secrets.

But she has no idea who she is up against, or that her life isn't hers to gamble - she belongs to me.

Q&A with Annie Lyons, author of The Choir on Hope Street.


The best things in life happen when you least expect them.

Nat's husband has just said the six words no one wants to hear - 'I don't love you any more'.

Caroline's estranged mother has to move into her house turning her perfectly ordered world upside down.

Living on the same street there two women couldn't be more different. Until the beloved local community centre is threatened by closure. And when the only way to save it is to form a community choir - none of the Hope Street residents, least of all Nat and Caroline, expect the results...

This spring, Hope is coming!

Heidi Swain, on the difference between writing novel one & novel five.


Good morning, dear readers! Today is a super exciting day here on Hummingbird Reviews, as I've managed to wrangle a gorgeous guest piece from the author who brought to you The Cherry Tree Café, Summer at Skylark Farm, Mince Pies and Mistletoe at the Christmas Market, and her forthcoming novel which is set to be released July 13th, Coming Home to Cuckoo Cottage. That's right, folks. It's only the fabulous Heidi Swain here with me today, chatting about her wonderful stories, and how she's found the writing process, from novel number one all the way to novel number five. Grab yourselves a cuppa tea, get snuggly and enjoy!

Q&A with Sam Carrington, author of Saving Sophie.


A teenage girl is missing. Is your daughter involved, or is she next? Your daughter is in danger. But can you trust her?

When Karen Finch's seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state.

Twelve hours later, Sophie's friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found.

Karen is sure that Sophie knows no more than she is letting on. But Karen has her own demons to fight. She struggles to go beyond her own door without a panic attack.

As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving onto another - Sophie.

Blog Tour: Book Review - The Housekeeper by Suellen Dainty


'I am the housekeeper, the hired help with a messy past who cleans up other people's messy lives, the one who protects their messy little secrets.'

When Anne Morgan's successful boyfriend - who also happens to be her boss - leaves her for another woman, Anne finds herself in desperate need of a new job and a quiet place to recover. Meanwhile, her celebrity idol, Emma Helmsley (England's answer to Martha Stewart), is in need of a housekeeper, an opportunity which seems too good to be true.

Through her books, website, and blog, Emma Helmsley advises her devoted followers on how to live a balanced life in a hectic world. Her husband, Rob, is a high profile academic, and her children, Jake and Lily, are well-adjusted teenagers. On the surface, they are the perfect family. But Anne soon finds herself intimiately ensconced in the Helmsley's dirty laundry, both literally and figuratively. Underneath the dust, grime and whimsical clutter, everyone has a secret to hide, and Anne's own disturbing past threatens to unhinge everything.